This week in review – taking CAN’T out of your vocabulary

I am sorry that I haven’t posted as much as I wanted to this last week.  I have been working on and reading about Opinionated Man’s “Project O”  There is a link at the bottom of the page to Opinionated man’s harsh Reality.  By working on it, I don’t mean that I am in  any way  running or helping run this project.  By working on it, I mean I have been working on my submission to this project.  I have sent it in and will reblog it when it is shared.  I encourage everyone to stop by and check it out.  And again if one of my followers puts in a submission, please let me know because I will reblog yours as well.

I have not been to the gym since the competition ended.  I hurt myself a couple of days before the end and wanted to give myself time to heal.  I plan on going back tonight or tomorrow.  I took a week off right after the competition, but this last week I have returned to a more healthier eating style, if you want to call it that.  My eating habits have never truly been healthy, but I know I have to work on that.  I have to find a way to love to eat the foods I hate.  I do want to try juicing.  I do see that sometime in my future.  I do hear that it is not cheap, so I am not sure when that will be.

I put on four pounds the week after the competition ended, but have gotten 2 of those pounds back off.  I am currently at 49 pounds down from my original weight.  In my original goals I wanted to be down 50 pounds by October 15, I am already there.  So I want to change my goal to 65 pounds total down by October 15th.  I can do it.

As I was driving home from work the other day, the radio dj from KLOVE radio station were talking about dieting,  and there was a study that was out that said if you use the word can’t like i can’t have something, then your brain translates that as deprivation and makes you actually crave that item even more.  Instead, people who say I am choosing not to eat it, allows your brain to change the way you think.  So no wonder why people who say can’t have a higher failure rate.  That is why I try to give myself some reward periods so that I don’t feel like I am depriving myself.  At some point, just like soda, maybe I wont need those reward times.  Maybe at some point I won’t desire those foods anymore.  The trick which is the biggest point I learned, I need to find healthier foods that I love as much as those foods that aren’t as healthy.  I never thought I could drink water and it has become my normal, do I still love juice, yes but I don’t need it.  I just don’t have to change everything at once, it is a work in progress and I will continue to work on it.

and the journey continues…..

This entry was posted in The Body and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to This week in review – taking CAN’T out of your vocabulary

  1. John wouldn’t you rather eat the foods you love and lose weight? It’s more than possible.

    • John says:

      I know what you are talking about and yes. But I am from philadelphia and I love cheestakes and cheesecake and I could eat them everyday, if I could. I do still eat cheesesteaks ( well chicken cheesesteaks) quite often and still have lost weight, but there is going to come a day where that can’t be the norm.

      • I disagree, that’s what I’m all about, reshaping recipes to make the calories work for weight loss. Throw me some favorites and let’s see what I can do. I love a challenge. Will it be exact…no. It can still be delicious.

        • John says:

          Yes I know Vicki, the problem is that I don’t like fruits or veggies. I grew up a picky eater. I am a meat and potatoes. I see your recipes, and god bless you, if you could get a cheesesteak or cheesecake to taste like that and be all healthier – i would try it in a minute. I just believe I got to get to the point where I like fruits and veggies, so that i can try your recipes and enjoy them. I know it is a mental thing for me and I wish I could just flip that switch and eat healthy. Trust me anything you can do to make those types of food healthier I am for and will try. Work your majic girl.

          • What if I can make a calorie wise cheesesteak? I already did a peanut butter cup cheesecake type dessert. How about pizza? Tonight I made an out if this world meatloaf, only veggie was green onion in it and salsa on top instead of BBQ sauce. What I’m saying John is you can be meat and potatoes, lose weight and be healthy. So aside from cheesesteak and are fried onions and peppers part of your cheesesteak? Do you eat chicken, turkey and pork? I get that you eat beef lol. Do you like dips like hummus? Do you like chili, I guess I’m asking about the beans lol. Make a list of your 10 fave foods John and email it to me. It’ll help me help other meat and potato men! It may take a couple of tries to get seasonings right but other than that the only thing that may change is texture, you can have the taste or something very close to it.

  2. I am a firm believer that you can choose your outcome, and by using words like “can’t” you are setting yourself up to fail.
    I have had to cut foods out of my life that I “loved” because they are bad for me, they give me heartburn and trigger compulsive overeating. I love myself more than those foods and I choose to feed my body with food that will love me back. I totally understand where you are coming from.
    Stay strong – you have a good mindset and remember you CAN do it!

    • John says:

      Right on Mimi, and thanks for the words of encouragement and support. P.S. I sent you a email through gmail. If you did not get it please let me know.

  3. I work out by curling cheeseburgers! 😉

Leave a Reply

