Darn you, Olive Garden’s Never Ending Pasta Bowls

One of my favorite time of the year is the middle of August.  In the middle of August we are starting to wrap up the pre-season for NFL Pro Football, which means the regular season is about to begin.  The summer is almost over and that means life is about to return to normal.  And finally but not least it is time for Olive Garden’s never-ending pasta bowl.  I am the biggest sucker for penne noodles with alfredo sauce and bread sticks.  I don’t eat at Olive Garden that often, I save it all for this time of year.  But I am on a journey to a healthier lifestyle, right?

Let us go back to last week.  Last week after I weighed in for the last time for the biggest loser, I decided to go on vacation from my exercise and watching what I was eating, for a couple of reasons.  Reason 1, I put everything I had into that last week of competition, because I wanted to finish strong and I did.  But in giving everything I had, I hit a wall.  I was physically and mentally just worn out, so I needed a vacation.  Reason 2, I injured my leg right at the end and I wanted to give myself time to heal.  I also believe you have to give your body time to adjust to everything I have been doing to it.  I have heard some people work hard for six weeks and take the seventh week off, this in essence, is what I was doing.  Reason 3, i wanted to see what I would fall back into, this would allow me to see where i need to focus on.

Any weight I would gain from this, would not bother me, because I would know I could get it back off.  So I took the week off and planned to get back into the swing of things on Monday.  But on Monday, some personal things happened and it cost me two days.  I don’t want to get into them, not because I don’t want to be honest, but they have to do with other people and I don’t want to share personal thing of other people who are not willing to have them shared.  But I did go back to food as a slight crutch.  But i am determined and will get back into working hard for a healthier lifestyle.  I went on a nice walk this afternoon and I am back on trying to watch what I eat.

What did I learn?

The positive was that I have entrenched in myself some very good habits that have become second nature.  i don’t even have to think of them, I just do.  I look to eat or drink a small sensible breakfast.  I don’t want to eat after dinner.  I prefer to eat smaller more frequent meals.  And I have naturally looked to water as my main way to quench thirst.

The negative was that I still crave foods that are so bad for me.  The two mornings of belgium waffles.  My family and I love them and it was a treat to have them.  Eating out at Golden Coral and the Olive Garden.  What can I say.  I try to limit me eating out, and have been doing it as little as possible.  But when i am on vacation, I am on vacation.

Some people can not do what I did, because they can not re-focus.  It is a very dangerous thing to do.  But I am determined, nothing is going to stop me.  I gained 4-5 pounds this last week but they will be gone.  Not at the pace of the last six weeks.  it took me 3 months to lose thirty pounds and I am fine with that speed, maybe a little quicker.  But 35 in six weeks was fast, and I want to give my body the time to adjust to my weight lost.  I know that I will need some kind of skin surgery when I lose all this weight, but the quicker I lose it the less my body can adjust.  To me if I can lose 2-5 pounds a week, that is ideal.  I am realistic that it took 30 years to put all this weight on me, and I didn’t do it in a year.  So to expect my body to handle losing everything in a year is unrealistic and I believe unhealthy.  We live in a world that wants instant gratification, but when it comes to this journey, speed is not the most important.

and the journey continues……

This entry was posted in The Body and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Darn you, Olive Garden’s Never Ending Pasta Bowls

  1. Good on you John, you don’t have to be perfect, that’s the greatest lesson in the journey! We can’t go back to eating the way we used to so we ave to earn to eat what we love the right way. Keep up the good work.

    • John says:

      Thanks Vicki, I believe in the motto, that everything is ok if it is done in moderation. I don’t think you evey have to give something up, you just need to make good choices, and sacrifices. But at the same time you need to learn to like things that are good for you, the more you do that the less you will feel your giving up stuff.

  2. Good luck with this John, my Dad put on a stone and my Mum started nagging him because his blood pressure rose and his trousers got tight :). So he cut out bread he has too much butter, eats salads for lunch, eats more fruit cause he has a sweet tooth like me. Keep focused its worth it, his blood pressure has dropped and his trousers fit again, when were in London last week he had a week of treats with puddings and pastries, I don’t dance and walk as much in the summer so I have to cut back on treats too, its a drag 🙂
    Best wishes
    Charlotte

    • John says:

      Thanks for your kind words Charlotte and I am happy for what your father has accomplished and I wish him continued success. And I wish you all the best on your journey.

Leave a Reply

