Biggest Loser Weigh-in week 5

Well it is time for another Biggest Loser weigh-in, week 5.  That means 5 down and 1 to go.  In horse racing we would have just completed the final turn and we would be heading down the final stretch.  It makes me think of one of my favorite bible verses, Philippians 3:13b-14;

But one thing I do, forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is a head.  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

So many times when the race is almost over, we get caught up in who is doing what around us.  Take the tortoise and the hare.  The hare did not forget what was behind him and got cocky and lost the race.  If the hare would have taken to heart this verse, then he would have never lost the race.  It doesn’t matter if you are in first place or last place or in-between.  What matter is finishing the race strong, so that you can take pride that you gave it your all and best.  You need to remain focused, and that is what I want to do.  Make this week the best week.

With all that said, let us get down to the numbers, at the end of week 4, I was in 3rd place in total weight lost, and 7th in percentage.  After today’s weigh-in, I past the person in second place, all the people have not weighed in yet, so I am not officially in second place yet.  One other great news is that I am about 4 pounds away from first place, and the person in first place will not weigh-in anymore which means that is his final weight.  So I have to lose 5 pounds to put myself in 1st place.  That again doesn’t guarantee anything, because a number of people have not been weighing in every week, which is not required.  So there is a slight chance, someone comes out of nowhere and wins.

I have lost 26 1/2 pounds in five weeks for this competition, and that puts me at 44.1 total lost for my journey.  Keep me in your prayers that I stay focused and that I don’t get over-confident and become like the hare, I want to finish strong.

and the journey continues…….

This entry was posted in Biggest Loser, The Body, Weigh-ins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Biggest Loser Weigh-in week 5

  1. You’re doing wonderfully John, congratulations! Make your focus a form of tunnel vision, seeing nothing but your desired and expected outcome and you will surely be in first place.

  2. lifeofmoderation says:

    Good luck getting 1st place! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

