No pain, No gain

No Pain, No gain.  No matter why you’re in pain, pain will always be good.  Pain is an indicator that something is going on with your body that isn’t normal.  Whether you cut off your hand and the pain is telling you to quickly get to a hospital or your going to die.  Or if it was what I am still experiencing today since Monday morning telling you that you used muscles that you haven’t in a while.  On Monday morning, my trainer suggested and showed me how to do deadlifts.  He suggested that I use the smith machine with no weight on the bar.  But the smith machines were being used at the time.  So I asked if there was a way to do it without the smith machine.  So he found a free bar with 30 pounds of weight on it and said this will do.

So what is a deadlift?  You start with the bar on the floor or right above your ankles. You’re in a squat position and you basically stand up straight bringing the bar all the way up to your chest, keeping your back completely straight and your chest out.  You then return to the squat position.  You do three sets of 12.  It gives you a full body workout and is also cardio.  I could only do 9 on the third set and my legs were shaking.  If you are looking for something new to try, I definitely recommend this.  This will become a staple of my workouts.

Monday night and Tuesday it hurt to sit down and walk and do steps.  But it is getting better.  Tuesday I kept going back and forth on whether or not I should workout Tuesday because I was in so much pain.  But I really want to give it my all these last two weeks.  I want to finish this race (the biggest loser competition) as strong as I can.  So I did workout Tuesday night.  I did my normal 45 min on the elliptical, but at a much slower pace and I did not do any lifting.

Today I feel better, not pain-free but better.  I hope to take two longs walks with the dog and get a workout in tonight.  This has been a good start to the week.  And remember No pain, No gain.

and the journey continues…..

This entry was posted in The Body, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

