Biggest Loser Weigh-in week 2

Today was weigh-in day for the biggest Loser challenge at work.  Last week for the competition, I lost 5.1 pounds and was 11th out of 56 people.  When I stepped on the scale today, I lost another 8 pounds.  Which puts me for a grand total of 13.1 pounds for the competition.  Which is still at the 30 pounds lost overall.  My original goal for the Biggest Loser was 30 pounds over the 6 week competition.  I am on pace for 39.1 pounds for the competition.  So I am going to change my goal to 50 pounds over 6 weeks, which means I got to lose 36.9 more.  It also means I need to lose an average of 9.225 pounds per week.  This is going to be really hard, but I want to push myself and not be comfortable with where I am at.  And I am not choosing 50 pounds because I think that is what is will take to win it, because someone is on pace to lose over 60.  Winning, although it would be nice, is not the most important thing.

I have heard rumours that people are taking supplements and starving themselves as a way to try to win this competition.  If you are in this, and are reading this post.  I beg you to consider your health.  While we all would like to receive the prize for winning, let us not risk our health for money.  The money is small and will be gone quickly.  Your health, you own for the rest of your life.  Taking supplements can be dangerous, and are a temporary fix.  Starvation can do lasting damage and can create disorders.  Not only are they not good for you, as soon as you stop, you will put the weight right back on.  Do it the right way, and you will be a winner, even if you don’t win the competition.  One girl who I work with and is in the competition with me; we talk all the time about how we are doing, well she lost 1 pound so far.  And that to me is more impressive than my 13.1 pounds.  She works just as hard or harder than I do, but she weighs a lot less and she is a woman (men for some reason, lose weight easier).  So even though it is one pound, I am as happy or more for her, because it took as much work.  I am even more proud because I know she did it the right way and for the right reasons.  She is the true winner in my book.

At my job, we have a monthly newsletter.  I found out today that my blog, not featured but is mentioned in there.  It is in the article about the Biggest Loser competition.  So for those of you, who work with me, be on the look out for you.  It means a lot to think people though it was worthy of being mentioned and I am humbled by it.

and the journey continues…..

This entry was posted in Biggest Loser, Goals, The Body and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Biggest Loser Weigh-in week 2

  1. Congratulations John, I’m so happy for you! You’re absolutely right, health s what’s important.I have been really busy this weekend and haven’t had a chance to respond yet. It’s starting to calm down and I will get back to you by the end of the week. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Stop the Presses! | Our Personal Journey

Leave a Reply

