The results are in: 3 month weigh-in

Before I jump to the information that you all have been waiting for, I just wanted to tell you about the day before judgment day.  Yesterday was a challenge for me, one that I think I did really good with.  As I think I have shared with you before, I work seven-days a week.  I have a full-time job and a two-day part-time job.  I have recently been debating if I should keep both jobs, and have stayed working both.  I walk in to me second job yesterday and with-in the first half hour, was told that I was no longer needed, yesterday would be my last day.

So today had to be good day right.  After my disappointment of yesterday, today was going to be about good news.  Listen I said it once and I will say it again,  this blog is about being honest with you, sharing all the great accomplishments, but also sharing the disappointments.  I have always vowed to tell you the truth even when it hurts to do so.  So when I shared my yearly goals here, which I might have to change, I said that by this date I wanted to lose 25 pounds.  I can honestly say to you that I did not lose 25 pounds, and that is alright.  Because I actually lost a little over 30 pounds.  I had you didn’t I.  I get weighted by the assistant and he goes to me, “is that what you weighted before?”  I said, “No”.  And he proceeded to look up the information of what I weighted.  He said, “you weighted that, and you weighted this now.  How long ago was that.”  I said three months.  “You lost 30 ponds in three months, what were you doing?”  So I told him.  We walked into the room and the doctor was already there.  The assistant goes to the doctor right away, he weighted this and now he weighted this.  My doctor raised his face and it had the look of pure joy and he walks over to me and gives me a fist pump.  This was the second time in as many visited that I totally stunned my doctor.  His first words to me was ” John, when you put your mind to something, nothing stops you.”  We all have that in ourselves.  You might be reading this and say, not me John.  I can not do what you are doing.  Yes you can, I said that about soda all my life, and the first time I stunned my doctor was three months ago when I told him eight months ago from then, that I gave up soda cold turkey.  In twenty-four days, it will be a year since I drank any soda.  And I never, ever thought I could.  The only thing holding you back is yourself.  If you can believe in you like I believe in you, nothing can stop you.  But the biggest hurdle and I am telling you the truth, is believe and wanting it.  It took me 37 years to believe in myself, and I will never stop.  Please don’t let it take 37 years for you.  Today was a great day.  I am ready for the challenge.

and the journey continues…….

This entry was posted in Goals, The Body, Weigh-ins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The results are in: 3 month weigh-in

  1. Congratulations John! Good on you.

    • John says:

      Thank you Vicki, for the nice words.

      • John, I want to make sure you know that they’re not just words. I’m not just being nice, it’s a heartfelt sentiment from a place of compassion and understanding. I want you to know this because sometimes when we have been so hard on ourselves we have trouble accepting kudos from others and you deserve it. I apologize if I’m out of line John, I’m a therapist! Namaste

  2. bill says:

    So, so proud of you, bro! We all knew you could it, but what YOU believe is what matters most. Keep on dreaming big and never stop believing. Next stop 40 lbs. You got this!

    • John says:

      Thanks, Billy. I think I am going to have to re-evaluate my goals. I am thinking I would like to lose a total of 45 for the biggest loser, which means a little over 30 more in a little over 4 weeks.

  3. MaryBeth says:

    Awesome job! So proud of you!

  4. Jodie Gahan says:

    Oh wow!!! Congrats John and keep up the good, no GREAT work!!! You are an inspiration to many who’ve also said “It’s too hard”. 🙂

    • John says:

      thank you so much Jodie. It is moments like this and comments like yours that keep me going, because it is hard, but the harder it is the more rewarding it is also. And I know the weight that comes off, is gone for good. thank you again.

Leave a Reply

